mom, designer, recycler, crochet/knitter, & humble cook

Day One: CSA Adventure

Breakfast:
Just about every morning Aiden asks me to make pancakes. Usually I suggest something else, but today, sure, why not! I also usually suggest the addition of blueberries to make them even more ultra delicious, to which Aiden usually declines, then I do it anyway, and he gleefully exclaims “I like pancakes with blueberries!” So this morning we have decided to enjoy pancakes with peaches piled on them (blueberries ended in the CSA basket a few weeks ago, sadly).

Lunch:
The mid-meal is the trickiest for me, mostly because we are usually engrossed in something fun and pausing to eat is just a hassle. :) Other days my growing boy has insisted on snacks ALL DAY to which he is less inclined to eat a real meal at lunch time. None the less, today we are having Cucumber-Tomato salad with a little light ranch dressing, tuna sandwiches (Aiden’s favorite sammie) with some thinly sliced nappa cabbage and tomato piled on top. YUM!

Snack:
Can’t beat this – apple slices with peanut butter! We took this snack on the road to my office so I could go to a meeting and Aiden watched a movie, colored, and snacked. Tis the life of a busy mama!


Dinner:
Yesterday we got our CSA Box and I was so excited to spy green onions and ripe tomatoes in it that I added them to the top of our crock pot Taco Soup I had already made for the evening. Here is the final product! YUM!

Crockpot Taco Soup
(I found this recipe here, but changed it a bit to suit what I had in the pantry. Below is my version).

1/2 lb ground turkey
1 small yellow onion
6 small sweet peppers (2 red, 2 orange, 2 yellow), chopped
1 cup frozen corn (local corn I blanched and froze!)
1 can black beans – drained
1 can light kidney beans – drained
1 can diced tomatoes with juices
1 envelope of taco seasoning (or use 1/4 cup of your own mix of favorite spices – I used an envelope I happened to have, but really prefer mixing my own)

For serving:
Green onion, chopped
Tomato, chopped
Cheddar cheese, shredded (Tillamook!)
Sour cream, light
Tortilla chips

Brown turkey with onion in a large skillet over medium heat. Transfer to the crock pot and add remaining ingredients. Stir and cook on low for 7 – 8 hours, or high for 4 – 6 hours. Serve with a dollop of sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese, green onion, diced fresh tomatoes and tortilla chips. Serves 6 – 8 and freezes great!

Tonight for dinner I was inspired by a recipe sent with our weekly CSA email newsletter we get – Asian Chicken and Veggie Slaw. Not only is this an ideal meal for a hot September evening, it uses up MANY of our veggies and early in the week before they are screaming at me, wilting and fatigued from the fridge bins “eat me NOW!”

Asian Chicken and Veggie Slaw
4 cups finely slices nappa cabbage plus 6 leaves whole (I opted not to serve this meal on the whole leaves – the boys would have resisted!)
2 cups finely chopped bok choy
1 cup finely chopped red cabbage (leftover from last week’s CSA and it needs to be used, so I tossed it in!)
1 cup shredded carrots (I didn’t have any so I used finely sliced petite carrots that I had on hand)
1 cup chopped green onions
1 cup broccoli florets
1/4 cup chopped cilantro leaves (sadly I was fresh out of cilantro, so I used some dried cilantro and a bit of fresh parsley)
2 cups chopped, cooked chicken breast
1/2 cup roasted peanuts
1/2 cup rice wine vinegar
2 Tbls peanut oil (I used sesame oil – it was what I had)
2 Tbls freshly squeezed lemon juice
2 Tbls soy sauce
1 Tbls honey
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp fresh minced ginger (I used a ginger powder from my spice cabinet – not as good, but again, it is what I had)
1 Seranno chili, seeded and finely diced (omitted)
Sesame seeds

Combine cabbage, bok choy, carrots, green onions, broccoli, cilantro (and parsley), peanuts and chicken in a bowl, mixing well. In a small bowl whisk together liquid ingredient and serrano pepper (if you choose to use it). Pour over veggie mixture and toss salad. Wash and dry 6 nappa cabbage leaves. Please leaves on plates and serve salad mixture onto leaves. Top with sesame seeds. Makes 6, (2) cup servings.

Recipe verdict: my husband’s response was “This isn’t half bad!” I agree! It was a great way to use up lots of veggies, a refreshing dish for a hot summer evening, and the recipes makes SO MUCH (I should have cut it in half for just two adults!) it would serve you well for a party or BBQ dish.

So, at the end of day one we have the following:

(3) summer squash
(1) slicing cucumber – (1/2) remaining
(1/2) yellow onion
(2) tomatoes – (1) remaining
(1) pear
(1) peach
(1) nectarine
(1/2) giant head of nappa cabbage
(1) apple
(1) head of broccoli
(1) bunch of green onion
(1) cup green beans
(2) ears of corn
(2 1/2) lbs red potatoes
(1/2) head of bok choy

I’m making good progress, but those red potatoes are pretty subborn!

Up next: Oven baked boneless pork ribs with roasted red potatoes and green beans (not ideal for a warm weather week, but it’ll do)!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.