mom, designer, recycler, crochet/knitter, & humble cook

long time no blog

It has been awhile since I put my recycling thoughts on this here blog. My friend is a much better blogger than I am, inspiring me to give it a go, at least more consistently than I am now.

So what’s been happening?

The past few months have been filled with plastic gathering, tote/rug/basket making, and festival preparations, all culminating into one extremely fun, and tiring, weekend at the Recycled Arts Festival in Vancouver, Washington. I met some fantastic people! I got to make these cute wristlet clutches for a customer name Cecily for her granddaughters.

Just prior to the festival, I was contacted by a student at the Portland Art Institute about including one of my totes in an exhibit at the Gallery on campus. So, even though I haven’t had a chance to venture downtown to see it yet, one of my large totes (which I don’t have a picture of!) is on display with many other local designers with a theme of picnics, summer, and sunshine! Learn more here!

So what’s in the works?

New items:
I have some inventory left from the festival (totes and rugs!), including a small line of recycled tshirt scarves/necklaces, that need to be photographed and posted on my etsy site. Coming soon!!

Good books:
In the spirit of the summer reading program at the library (of which Aiden is a huge fan!), I’ve picked out a few non-fiction reads for myself to tackle in the coming weeks. It feels good to get lost in language again!

1st: Things I Learned from Knitting… whether I wanted to or not by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee. I’ve already finished this quick read and my only thought is this: she claims knitters are a different breed, and I totally agree (I’d also add crocheters, especially the kind who use recycled material!).

2nd: A Long Way Gone, memoirs of a boy soldier by Ishmael Beah. I’m nearly finished with this book. It took me years to have the courage to read it. It is hard to be a parent and to choose non-fiction that involves any sort of death or harm to children. Heartache! But, I’m working my way through it and so far I’m very impressed with the rawness with which Beah writes. Very impressive.

up next: Between a Rock and Hard Place by Aron Ralston (I’m a sucker for a good survival story – I’ve read just about ever expedition book in the library – Antarctica, Everest, boating, climbing, etc – they are just good!)

up next: The Geography of Bliss, one grump’s search for the happiest places in the world by Eric Weiner. If I can’t travel right now, I can at least read about it! I’m excited to dive into this one.

Yummy cooking:
Our weekly CSA basket as resulted in yummy items like this mini strawberry rhubarb pie:

Any this Apple and Rainer Cherry Galette (inspired by this recipe with this pie crust) – this was galette #4 in the last few weeks with filings ranging from strawberries, to mixed berry, to nectarine (no CSA ones yet!):

I really do make more than desserts with my CSA bounty – I promise.
YUM!

Now, to cook, to read, to crochet or to knit – I need more hands!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.